LGBT Equality Caucus comes back strong, nearly doubling membership

The LGBT Equality Caucus has nearly doubled its membership from last year, the group announced this week.

The congressional caucus is dedicated to LGBTQ issues and had seen its numbers dip after switching to a $400 annual dues-based membership last year.

The LGBT Equality Caucus starts the 115th Congress with 102 members, compared to just 53 last year. Dues-based congressional caucuses are not unusual. As the Washington Blade notes, the Congressional Progressive Caucus also has a dues requirement for members.

The caucus is co-chaired by the six openly LGBTQ members of Congress.

The Democratoc members are Reps. Jared Polis, David Cicilline, Sean Patrick Maloney, Mark Pocan, Kyrsten Sinema and Mark Takano. There are also two Republican members of the caucus: Reps. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen and Carlos Curbelo, both of whom are from Florida.

See full story here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: